Top Navigation


Global Diversity Fellowship Award

The Global Diversity Fellowships will provide funds for successful applicants to cover some of the costs to attend the 2018 SRBR meeting. International colleagues, especially those from countries listed on the DAC (Development Assistance Committee) list, are encouraged to apply.


Junior Faculty Research Award

The SRBR Junior Faculty Research Award recognizes exemplary scholarly work in Chronobiology by principal investigators at the Assistant Professor level (untenured). This award is typically given to researchers having published one or more distinguished research papers as a corresponding author, based on work in their own laboratory. Decisions will be made prior to the 2018 SRBR meeting and will be announced during the banquet of the 2018 SRBR meeting (as part of the Presidential address), where each awardee will receive a plaque.

Directors’ Award

The goals of the SRBR Directors’ Awards are to honor and thank people for their broad contributions to the field of Chronobiology. People could be recognized due to:

a) Service, be it to the Society, the field or outreach.
b) Trail-blazing research, i.e., if their discoveries opened a subfield or a new area in chronobiology.
c) Training (mentorship at any level).

Trainee and Young Faculty Diversity Enhancement Fellowships

Since its first meeting in 1988, SRBR has welcomed and benefited from researchers with a common interest in biological timing from widely varying backgrounds, disciplines and countries.  The Trainee and Young Faculty Diversity Enhancement (TYDE) fellowships aim to stimulate underrepresented minorities (URM) attendance to the SRBR meeting. Our goal is to provide TYDE Fellows with professional development tools and networking opportunities to become future leaders and role models in the biological rhythms community.

We will facilitate the integration of the TYDE Fellows to the biological rhythms community through professional development workshops and a one-on-one mentoring program. TYDE fellowships will cover a portion of meeting and travel expenses. This meeting will be an opportunity to develop a peer network and participate in an exciting meeting. Researchers with disabilities or who identify as coming from backgrounds underrepresented in chronobiology as defined by NIH regardless of nationality are strongly encouraged to apply.

All levels of training are eligible for the trainee TYDE fellowships (undergraduate and graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, medical students). Some fellowships will also be available for URM junior faculty. Fellowship competition results will be announced before the early bird registration and abstract submission deadlines.  Trainee TYDE fellows will also be eligible for the SRBR Merit Awards. Selection for merit awards is based on the scientific merit of abstracts submitted by trainees, and would constitute additional financial support.

Trainee Travel Award

Abstracts that fulfill all the following criteria will automatically be reviewed for awards. The eligibility criteria are as follows

  1. Be a trainee (enrolled in an undergraduate program or in a graduate degree program [Masters or PhD or equivalent] or be a postdoctoral fellow within five years of receiving a PhD or equivalent).
  2. Submit an abstract for the SRBR meeting as first author and presenter.
  3. Be a member of the SRBR at the time of conference registration.
  4. Register for the conference at the appropriate rate.
  5. Attend the SRBR meeting and have a reservation at the Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort within the SRBR room block.

Past Award Recipients
2016 Award Winners

Directors’ Awards

Directors’ Award for Mentoring:
Michael Menaker, Ph.D.
Directors’ Award for Research:
Patricia J. DeCoursey, Ph.D.
Directors’ Award for Service:
David R. Weaver, Ph. D

Junior Faculty Awards

Junior Faculty Research Award
Carrie L. Partch, Ph. D.
Fumika N. Hamada, Ph.D.

Aschoff’s Rule: Katja Lamia, Ph.D.

Travel Awards and Fellowships

Diversity Travel Award
Alejandra Goity
Consuelo Olivares
Jermaine Johnston
Panshak Dakup
Jennifer Enriquez
Anne Ramsey
Cesar Luna Illades
Atlantis Hill
Tsedey Mekbib
Adam Conteras
Joel Soler
Maria Alaide Guzman Ruiz
Aliza DeNobrega
Nicole Bowles
Luciano DiTacchio

International Travel Fellowship
Luis Leon
Anatasia Herrero
Natalia Bobko
Eva Carolina Soto Tinoco

Trainee Research Awards

Trainee Research Excellence Awards
John Abel
Rona Aviram
Akanksha Bafna
Ngoc-Hien Du
Diego Fernandez
Thomas Hopwood
Sam-Moon Kim
Xitong Liang
Mateusz Michalik
Jiffin Paulose
Marie Pariollaud
Ozgur Tataroglu
Ashitosh Rastogi
Laura van Rosmale
Jeremy Stubbefield

Trainee Research Merit Awards

Jermaine Johnston
Brian Altman
Peng Jiang
Minkyung Kim
Laura Flavell
Naveh Evantal
Brian Hodge
Pagkapol Y. Pongsawakul
Fangke Xu
Jonathan Sobel
Alicia Michael
Kevin Hannay
Alejandra Goity
Jake Yeung
Jerome Mermet
Stephanie Papp
Christou Skevoulla
Tianxin Liu
Sarah McLoughlin
Lisa Soyeon Baik
Michael Tackenberg
Mia Yu
Cinthya Cordoba-Manilla
Claire Gizowski
Adam Watson
Cristina Mazuski
Joseph Bedont
Filipa Rijo-Ferreira
Melissa Slocumb
Chak Foon Tso
Chloe Nobis
Amy Yu
Vincent van der Vinne
Bala Koritala
Yasemin Onder
Jacqueline Lane
Erica Schoeller
Victoria Acosta-Rodriguez
Jacob Hughey
Choden Shrestha
Celine Vetter
Peng Zhou
Katharina Beer
Brianne Kent
William Horton
Cheryl Isherwood
Gary George
Ane Martin Anduaga
Alexandra Yaw
Philip Cheng
Chelsea Vadnie
Jeff Kroetsch
Christopher Depner
Azure Grant
Anna Kriebs
Aliza De Nobrega
Ziv Zwighaft
Carmel Martin-Fairey
Heather Mahoney
Yu Tahara
Emma Wams
Catia Reis
Kathryn Abrahamsson
Benjamin Smarr
Karen Tonsfeldt
Clark Rosensweig
Shinya Aoyama
Matthias Schlichting