The latest from the SRBR Executive Committee

What do they talk about on those calls?! The SRBR Executive Committee teleconferences on the fourth Friday of each month. We discuss and vote on issues related to the Society, the journal, and the biannual meeting. We coordinate with the 6 major SRBR Committees to promote new efforts including the recent Position Paper on Daylight Saving Time, advocacy to U.S. Congress and NIH, coordination with other Societies, planning International Chronoschools, and creation of chronobiology educational materials. A few recent decisions are especially important to share in this Latest News just in case folks missed the email or Newsletter announcements.

Established the SRBR Public Outreach Fellow Program. We appointed our first Fellow, Dr. Laura Kervezee, who has been exceptionally busy raising the visibility of SRBR and its members through social media and the renovated SRBR website.

Funding requests granted to support the 2019 International Chronobiology Summer School (Munich), SRBR trainee travel support to the 2019 Latin American Society for Chronobiology (Montevideo), the Sleep and Circadian Datablitz at the 2019 Society for Neuroscience meeting (Chicago) and trainee travel awards to the Gordon Research Conference on Chronobiology (Barcelona).

Changed SRBR fees and membership. After careful evaluation of our savings, expenses, and revenue, we voted to raise annual membership fees by 10% in 2020. This will allow us to continue to grow our services, and meet the rising costs of running a meeting and a Society. Importantly, we didn’t want to penalize folks who renew their membership annually. The plan for meeting registration makes it so that folks who renew their SRBR membership annually will not see an increase in total expenses.

The Committee is now focused on establishing an annual giving campaign to raise funds and awareness for SRBR. Feel free to contact members of the Executive Committee with your questions and suggestions about anything SRBR related. We are: Erik Herzog, Amita Sehgal, Stacey Harmer, Fernanda Ceriani, Jennifer Evans, Carrie Partch and Ketema Paul (voting members), and Katja Lamia, Ilia Karatsoreos, Carla Green, Mary Harrington, Horacio de la Iglesia and Bill Schwartz (advisory members).