In The News

If you are interviewed by a national news program, a prominent national magazine or newspaper, or win a national or international award, please send this information to The SRBR communications team will make sure this information is posted to the website so our members and the general public get the latest news in the biological rhythms field and our members’ expertise and accomplishments are properly acknowledged.

December 2018

Click HERE to view the December News from the President.

November 2018

SRBR has just signed letters opposing Prop 7 in California and a similar measure in the European Union. If you would like to contact your representative, please consider this template.

September 2018

Click HERE to view the September News from the President.

February 2018

Longtime SRBR Member, Prof. Dr. Serge Daan, passed away on Friday, February 9th, 2018.  Serge Daan was an inspiring biologist with a broad interest in science. He was a fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and was knighted in the Order of the Lion of the Netherlands. He was awarded several prizes and awards, including the prestigious International Prize for Biology, which he received from the Emperor of Japan. His publications were cited over 15000 times and include seminal work in chronobiology, sleep research, psychiatry, physiology, ecology and behavioural biology. Read more here.

October 2017

Jeff Hall and SRBR Members, Michael Rosbash and Mike Young won the Nobel Prize in Physiology and Medicine for their discoveries of molecular mechanisms controlling the circadian rhythm.

February 2017

SRBR Member, Dr. Kenneth Wright, was highlighted on BBC for his work at the University of Colorado Boulder studying natural light and circadian rhythms. View the article, “Weekend Camping Resets Body Clock,” and read more about Dr. Wright’s results on the BBC’s website.

November 2016

SRBR Members Dr. Gary Pickard, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, and Dr. Amita Sehgal, University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine, have been named fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Fellows are selected by their peers for scientifically or socially distinguished achievements that advance science or its application. Dr. Pickard was selected for distinguished contributions to neuroscience, especially for describing neuroanatomical circuitry in the mammalian brain and using viral probes for tracing circuitry within the circadian system. Dr. Sehgal has been selected for distinguished contributions to neuroscience and physiology, particularly in elucidating molecular mechanisms and cellular circuits underlying circadian rhythms and sleep. Honorees will be formally recognized this February 2017, at the AAAS annual meeting in Boston.

Joseph Takahashi, Ph.D., Loyd B. Sands Distinguished Chair in Neuroscience, Professor and Chair, Department of Neuroscience and Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center was honored with the Peter Farrell Prize in Sleep Medicine award by the Division of Sleep Medicine at Harvard Medical School. The presentation of the Farrell Prize was made at the Division of Sleep Medicine’s 15th Annual Sleep and Health Benefit Dinner.

October 2016

SRBR Member, Dr. Charles Bourque and his team from McGill Univeristy have published a paper describing the mechanism of clock control of thirst in mice.
In this study, Dr. Claire Gizowski and colleagues describe a mechanism by which the central clock directly regulates a circadian behavior. Specifically, they show that the surge in water intake that precedes the sleep-period in mice relies on the activity of suprachiasmatic nucleus vasopressin (VP) neurons that project to thirst neurons in the OVLT, where VP is released as an excitatory neurotransmitter. Read more about the team’s research here.

May 2016

Congratulations to SRBR member Dr. Amita Sehgal for her election to membership in the National Academy of Science!

October 2015

Aziz Sancar awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry

September 16, 2015

Kenneth Wright, PhD, University of Colorado, Boulder

Caffeine at Night Resets your Inner Clock